2020 EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards

EECS honors four faculty members for their outstanding accomplishments to the community.

Four faculty have received an Outstanding Achievement Award from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.  The award recognizes individual faculty for special contributions made in teaching, research, and/or service.

The recipients of the 2020 EECS Outstanding Achievement Award are:

David Chesney Enlarge
Dr. David Chesney

David Chesney

Dr. David Chesney is recognized for sustained commitment to innovative experiential and team-based learning with a focus on the greater good, and for leadership in developing programs, participating on teams, and advocating for diversity and inclusiveness, including for those with disabilities.

Heath Hofmann Enlarge

Heath Hofmann

Prof. Heath Hofmann is recognized for outstanding contributions to research, teaching and practice in the areas of energy harvesting and transportation electrification technologies; for exceptional leadership as Associate Chair for Graduate Affairs; and for tremendous assistance to students navigating their graduate education by providing a variety of resources for their academic and emotional success.

Rajesh Rao Nadakuditi Enlarge
Rajesh Rao Nadakuditi

Raj Rao Nadakuditi

Prof. Rajesh Rao Nadakuditi is recognized for fundamental contributions to the random matrix theory and its applications to networks, matrix denoising, transmission through scattering media, and much more; for extraordinary innovation in teaching, particularly in EECS 551 and 505, drawing thousands of students to these computational data science courses over recent years; and for initiative and leadership in graduate student recruiting and fostering a welcoming environment for graduate students.

"" Enlarge

Jenna Wiens

Prof. Jenna Wiens is recognized for influential and impactful work in leading the development of responsible machine learning models for use in real-world healthcare settings, and for leadership contributions as Co-Director of Precision Health at the University of Michigan.

David Chesney; Heath Hofmann; Honors and Awards; Jenna Wiens; Rajesh Nadakuditi