Alumni | ECE Willie Hobbs Moore Distinguished Alumni Lecture

Engineering – The Joy of Journey

Christopher RutledgeDistinguished Member of Technical StaffVerizon
1311 EECS BuildingMap

Chris Rutledge is the 2023 Willie Hobbs Moore Distinguished Alumni Lectureship award winner.

Engineers today require a more comprehensive skill set and a broader personal network than ever before. The world’s problems are complex, and engineers must understand how these issues intersect to develop effective solutions. Creating a foundational toolset is paramount to addressing these problems. Additionally, the ability to communicate to both a technical audience and to non-technical decision makers are the keys to successful achievement of objectives.  This talk will also trace a journey from rural East Texas to Distinguished Engineer at one of the biggest telecommunications companies in the world.

Christopher Rutledge is a Distinguished Engineer at Verizon and holds numerous patents in next generation communications technology.  His philosophy is that all problems are eagerly waiting to be solved. With a BS in Electrical Engineering from Prairie View, an MS in Electrical Engineering from Michigan, and rich experiences across both public and private sectors, he has honed his ability to provide solutions in the midst of concurrent crises while embracing the accompanying chaos.  He is currently responsible for the development of a Device Management platform that has, in 5 years, grown from 6 Verizon Business customers to well over 260,000, including over a half-million students learning remotely during the pandemic.

Christopher comes from a family of teachers dating back to reconstruction in the Great State of Texas and is the proud father of two Wolverines. Being a Track Parent, he still employs Statics & Dynamics while strength training young athletes at his home in New Jersey.

Zoom information will be shared via email. Contact Ann Stals for more information. 

Sponsored by

Electrical and Computer Engineering


Ann Stals

Faculty Host

Herbert Winful Joseph E and Anne P Rowe Professor of Electrical EngineeringElectrical and Computer Engineering