Distinguished Lecture

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science in the Golden Age of Engineering

Honorable Zachary J. LemniosVice President, IBM ResearchIBM

Mr. Lemnios is the recipient of the 2018 ECE Alumni Impact Award. This award is the highest recognition granted by ECE to its alumni. It recognizes alumni who have made a significant and lasting impact in any or all of the following areas: technology, education, industry, government, society. Awardees are often regarded as visionaries within their field.
We have entered a Golden Era of Engineering and have an opportunity to make an impact on the world as never seen before. The internet and low cost computing, communications, and
storage are driving global scale and adoption of ideas at an unprecedented pace. High fidelity modeling and simulation are broadly available and providing a path to address opportunities of previously
unapproachable complexity. Novel sensors are providing us with new sources of data and shaping many
industries. Scale and speed have become the new norms in Engineering.

For these opportunities and beyond, Electrical Engineers and Computer Scientists must win the global
race in the foundational technologies of microelectronics, AI, and Quantum Computing. To do so,
new concepts are needed in atomic scale solid state devices, and new systems engineering thinking is
needed in areas such as data curation, security, assurance, resiliency and privacy.

While a career path in Electrical Engineering and
Computer Science may look very different in years
ahead, we have a remarkable opportunity to make an
impact on the world as never seen before.
Mr. Lemnios leads Physical Sciences and Government Programs, globally across IBM Research, to extend fundamental scientific understanding and breakthroughs that enable the future of information technology. Strategic initiatives include quantum computing, neuromorphic devices and architectures, molecular imaging, silicon nanophotonics, and magnetic memory technology. This team have been responsible for leading technical breakthroughs across the industry and many of IBM's major awards, including: Nobel Prizes, Kavli Prizes, and the Millennium Technology Prize.

Mr. Lemnios previously served as VP Research Strategy and Worldwide Operations. In that role, he led the formation and execution of the IBM Research strategy and operations across IBM's twelve global laboratories and network of collaboratories, led the IBM Global Technology Outlook and worked across IBM to set the strategic direction of IBM Research.

Prior to joining IBM, Mr. Lemnios served three terms in high level civilian leadership in the Department of Defense with detailed and extended interactions across the whole of US government and with leaders across US allied nations. Mr. Lemnios was confirmed as The Honorable Assistant Secretary of Defense (Research & Engineering) by the United States Senate. In this position, Mr. Lemnios was the Chief Technology Officer for Department of Defense and shaped the Department's technical strategy to support the President's national security objectives and the Secretary's priorities. He launched Department and international initiatives in large data analytics, decision support, engineering education, electronic warfare, cyber, autonomy, advanced propulsion, hypersonics, and rail gun concepts as future capabilities for the nation. Mr. Lemnios also served as the Chief Technology Officer of MIT Lincoln Laboratory and led the development of advanced technologies in support of national security.

Mr. Lemnios received his BSEE from the University of Michigan and his MSEE from Washington University in St. Louis and an honorary degree of Doctor of Humane Letters from Tiffin University. He has served on numerous national security, industry and academic committees. He has authored over 40 papers, holds 4 patents in advanced GaAs device and MMIC technology and is a Fellow of the IEEE. Mr. Lemnios received special recognition from the Australian Government Department of Defence and was awarded Office of Secretary of Defense Medal for Exceptional Public Service and the Office of Secretary of Defense Medal for Outstanding Public Service.

Sponsored by