Faculty Advisors

Contact us if you have any questions regarding graduate programs in ECE.

3400 Suite EECS Bldg
(734) 764-2390 
[email protected]

Master of Science (M.S. or M.S.E.) in Electrical & Computer Engineering

Applied Electromagnetics & RF Circuits

Ehsan Afshari

Prof. Ehsan Afshari
[email protected]

Network, Communication, and Information Systems

Lei Ying

Prof. Achilleas Anastasopoulos
[email protected]

Computer Vision

Andrew Owens

Prof. Andrew Owens

Control Systems

Peter Seiler

Prof. James S. Freudenberg
[email protected]

Embedded Systems

Pei Zhang

Prof. Pei Zhang
[email protected]

Integrated Circuits & VLSI

For current students looking to switch areas to IC/VLSI, we require an A or A+ in 2 of the following classes: 413, 427, 511, 522, 627.
Note that enrollment in these classes is by permission of the instructor only, and priority will be given to current IC/VLSI students.

Advisor for last names starting A-M

Dennis Sylvester

Prof. Zhengya Zhang
[email protected]

Advisor for last names starting N-Z

David Blaauw

Prof. David Blaauw
[email protected]

MEMS & Microsystems

Yogesh Gianchandani 

Prof. Khalil Najfi
[email protected]

Optics & Photonics

Zheshen Zhang

Prof. Zheshan Zhang
[email protected]mich.edu 

Power & Energy

Ian Hiskens

Prof. Johanna Mathieu
[email protected]

Office Hours


Shai Revzen

Prof. Peter Seiler
[email protected]

Robotics Major Advising

Signal & Image Processing and Machine Learning

Advisor for last names starting A-O

Qing Qu

Prof. Qing Qu
[email protected]

Advisor for last names starting P-Z

Laura Balzano

Prof. Samet Oymak
[email protected]

Solid State & Nanotechnology

Zhaohui Zhong

Prof. Zhaohui Zhong
[email protected] 

Master of Engineering (MEng) Program

Autonomous Systems

James Freudenberg

Prof. Jim Freudenberg 
[email protected] 

Data Science and Machine Learning

Join in person office hours for Winter 2024: Thursdays from 5:00 – 6:30 in EECS 4437

Leung Tsang

Prof. S. Sandeep Pradhan
[email protected] 

Microelectronics and Integrated Circuits

Euisik Yoon

Prof. Zhengya Zhang
[email protected]