Faculty Advisors

Contact us if you have any questions regarding graduate programs in ECE.

3400 Suite EECS Bldg
(734) 764-2390 
ece-grad-program@umich.edu

Master of Science (M.S. or M.S.E.) in Electrical & Computer Engineering

Applied Electromagnetics & RF Circuits

Advisor for last names starting A-L

Ehsan Afshari

Prof. Efsan Afshari
afshari@umich.edu

Advisor for last names starting M-Z

Tony Grbic

Prof. Anthony Grbic
agrbic@umich.edu

Network, Communication, and Information Systems

Advisor for last names starting A-L

Hessam Mahdavifar

Prof. Hessam Mahdavifar
hessam@umich.edu

Advisor for last names starting M-Z

Prof. Sandeep Pradhan
pradhanv@umich.edu

Computer Vision

Andrew Owens

Prof. Andrew Owens
ahowens@umich.edu 

Control Systems

Peter Seiler

Prof Peter Seiler
pseiler@umich.edu

Embedded Systems

Advisor for last names starting A-M

Robert Dick

Prof. Robert Dick
dickrp@umich.edu

Advisor for last names starting N-Z

Pei Zhang

Prof. Pei Zhang
peizhang@umich.edu

Integrated Circuits & VLSI

Advisor for last names starting A-M

Dennis Sylvester

Prof. Dennis Sylvester
dmcs@umich.edu

Advisor for last names starting N-Z

Zhengya Zhang

Prof. Zhengya Zhang
zhengya@umich.edu

MEMS & Microsystems

Prof. Yogesh Gianchandani 
yogesh@umich.edu

Optics & Photonics

Herbert Winful

Prof. Herb Winful
arrays@umich.edu 

Power & Energy

Al-Thaddeus Avestruz

Prof. Al Avestruz
avestruz@umich.edu

To make advising appointments please visit: https://avestruz.engin.umich.edu/

Robotics

Prof. Jessy Grizzle
grizzle@umich.edu 

Signal & Image Processing and Machine Learning

Advisor for last names starting A-O

Jeff Fessler

Prof. Jeffrey Fessler
fessler@umich.edu

Advising Hours: Thursdays 3:00-3:50pm

4431 EECS

Advisor for last names starting P-Z

Clayton Scott

Prof. Clayton Scott
clayscot@umich.edu

Advising Hours: Fridays 11:00-11:50am

https://umich.zoom.us/j/94860618786

Solid State & Nanotechnology

Zetian Mi

Prof. Zetian Mi 
ztmi@umich.edu 

Master of Engineering (MEng) Program

Autonomous Systems

James Freudenberg

Prof. Jim Freudenberg 
jfr@umich.edu 

Data Science and Machine Learning

Raj Nadakuditi

Prof. Raj Rao Nadakuditi 
rajnrao@umich.edu